Carl Brookins
[space]
Books
[space]
Appearances
[space]
Bio
[space]
Bibliography
[space]
TV Programs
[space]
Reviews
[space]
Articles
[space]
Factoids
[space]
Photos
[space]
Links
[space]
Press Kit
[space]
Newsletter
[space]
Blog
[space]
Send E-mail
[space]
Once Upon a Crime
[space]

AUTHOR OF THE SEAN SEAN AND TANNER/WHITNEY MYSTERIES

Carl BrookinsBefore he became a mystery writer and reviewer, Brookins was a freelance photographer, a Public Television program director, a Cable TV administrator, and a counselor and faculty member at Metropolitan State University in Saint Paul, Minnesota. He has reviewed mystery fiction for the Saint Paul Pioneer Press and for Mystery Scene Magazine. His reviews appear at Barnes & Noble and Amazon Internet sites, on his own web site, Books n' Bytes, and on the popular news group, DorothyL. Several authors with blogs carry his reviews as well. Brookins is an avid recreational sailor. With his wife and friends he has sailed in many locations across the world. He is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and Private Eye Writers of America. He can frequently be found touring bookstores and libraries with his companions-in-crime, The Minnesota Crime Wave.

Brookins writes the sailing adventure series featuring Michael Tanner and Mary Whitney, the Sean Sean private investigator detective series, and the Jack Marston academic series. He has five novels in print along with a number of short stories.

Brookins received a liberal arts degree from the University of Minnesota and studied for a Masters degree in Communications at Michigan State University. He is married with two grown daughters and lives with his wife Jean, a retired publisher and editor in Roseville, Minnesota.

Connect with Carl on Facebook
Twitter:

Red SkyAVAILABLE NOW IN PAPER AND EBOOK: RED SKY

Mary Whitney and Tanner embark on a romantic sailing vacation in the British Virgin Islands. During a quick swim, Tanner finds three hundred dollar bills floating beside their charter. Contact with the authorities leads to confusion and murder of a local Treasury agent. Believing Tanner has stolen millions of dollars from a smuggling cartel, Tanner is kidnapped by the cartel to force him to reveal the location of the missing money. Mary goes on a frantic quest to save both Tanner and herself. With help from a young secret Service agent, Hilda Martin, Mary offers herself as bait in an attempt to rescue her husband and trap the killers. In the violent final confrontation at sea, Mary pits her sailing skills against a powerful motor yacht and Hilda Martin is forced into a frightening gun battle with the enemy.

Buy Red Sky at:
Amazon.com | Smashwords.com | Barnes & Noble

 

Red SkyAVAILABLE NOW IN PAPER AND EBOOK: OLD SILVER

A misplaced letter, a brass engine plate and an unplanned murder launch Tanner and Mary Whitney into their third adventure. Old Silver takes place on and under the icy waters of Lake Superior, in the corporate halls of Duluth, and in the brawling streets of Chicago, at the dawn of the Twentieth Century. "Carl Brookins deftly mixes mystery, dark history, and political intrigue with shipwrecks, wild storms, sailing and scuba diving. His charming and feisty sleuths—Michael Tanner and Mary Whitney—follow in the tradition of Nick and Nora Charles."
(Mary Logue, author of the Clare Watkins mystery series)

Buy Old Silver at:
Amazon.com | Barnes & Noble

 

COMING IN SEPTEMBER: THE CASE OF THE YELLOW DIAMOND

A dead man on the floor of his office in Minneapolis won't lead P.I. Sean Sean to journey to Yap Island to protect his new client. Bombs in lawyers' cars only jostle him. This short investigator knows the value of research and asking questions in the right places. World War II, Asian diamonds and concrete in Des Moines combine to almost destroy a Minnesota family.

 

© 2005-15 by Carl Brookins.
Permission is hereby granted for reproduction of any material contained in this web site for purposes of publicity and promotion related to the sale of our books and/or appearances by Carl Brookins.
Web site by interbridge.